Saturday, January 19, 2008

Cricinfo Awards 2007

Three Indians, two Sri Lankans and an Australian have been named as the winners in the inaugural Cricinfo Awards, which recognise the outstanding batting and bowling performances in all three forms of the game during 2007.

The lists of nominees, announced in December 2007, were compiled by Cricinfo's global staff. The winners were selected by a jury put together by Cricinfo for this purpose, which consisted of Geoffrey Boycott, Ian Chappell, Daryll Cullinan, Tony Greig, Michael Holding, David Lloyd, Sanjay Manjrekar, Ramiz Raja and Ravi Shastri. The final selection was based on a ranking of the performances by the jury, with the players who fetched the most points winning the respective awards. In the event of a tie, the player with the most top nominations was selected as the winner by the jury

List of winners
Test batting - Kumar Sangakkara (SL): 192, Australia v Sri Lanka, 2nd Test, HobartTest bowling - Zaheer Khan (Ind): 5 for 75, England v India, 2nd Test, Trent BridgeODI batting - Adam Gilchrist (Aus): 149, Australia v Sri Lanka, World Cup final, BarbadosODI bowling - Lasith Malinga (SL): 4 for 54, Sri Lanka v South Africa, World Cup, GuyanaTwenty20 batting - Yuvraj Singh (Ind): 70, India v Australia, World Twenty20 semi-final, DurbanTwenty20 bowling - RP Singh (Ind): 4 for 13, India v South Africa, World Twenty20, Durban

No comments: